After Architecture is a design practice dedicated to the power of place. Bringing together culture and context in our designs, we are a practice dedicated to place-making across scales. 

Founders Katie MacDonald and Kyle Schumann have been recognized as emerging designers and artists, earning the title of Curbed Young Guns and receiving an AIA Los Angeles Next LA Honor Award. Both are LEED Green Associates, Associate Members of the American Institute of Architects, and Certified Artists recognized by a panel of peers at the Boston Redevelopment Authority. 

Katie MacDonald received her Master of Architecture from Harvard University and her Bachelor of Architecture from Cornell University. She gained professional experience at the offices of Morphosis Architects, Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects, and others. She has taught at Temple Univeristy, Philadelphia University, Boston Architectural College, and Wentworth Institute of Technology. She is the recipient of the Robert James Eidlitz Fellowship and the Paul M. Heffernan International Travel Grant. Her work has been recognized with honors such as the AIA New England Design Honor Award in Special Projects, the Core 77 Design Award in Built Environment, two Architizer A+ Awards in Architecture and Collaboration, and most recently, a nomination for the Mies Van der Rohe Award, EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture. 

Kyle Schumann received his Bachelor of Architecture from Cornell University where he was awarded the William S. Downing Prize for Architectural Design. His professional training includes work at the offices of Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects in New York City and Anmahian Winton Architects in Cambridge, MA. Kyle has taught architecture studios at Cornell University's College of Architecture, Art, & Planning, Wentworth Institute of Technology, and Boston Architectural College. In 2017, he was awarded the Robert A.M. Stern Architects Travel Fellowship for his research project, Alpine Modernism: Sensitive Identities and Regional Placemaking, and the Robert James Eidlitz Fellowship.